Daughters…What you SEE, is What YOU get

How does your daughter see you?

Whether you are a mother or a father you will one day become concerned with how your daughter sees you…hopefully. Nas had a rude awakening when he saw his daughter Destiny’s instagram photo of a bowl of condoms. And it led him to do a song titled “Daughters”, and a fabulously done video in the perspective of Destiny and how she saw her father Nas as she grew up.

As a daughter, who was raised by her father, this completely hit home for me! Although my father was not a huge rap icon,  I too recall, being with my daddy while he’s flirting with women, talking smack with his friends. My father always made it a point for me to go with him, so that I can see him handling business matters. Overall my father has shown me a lot, and has given me many different perspectives on life. One of the biggest lessons I have learned from my father is unconditional love. If you have a loving father you come to realize that they are NOT super man, they are human and have made mistakes just like you. Which in turn has greatly shaped my outlook on life in general, and it has helped me become the woman I am today.

Which brings me to this…. As a mother or Father what do you want your daughter to see you as? When they grow up will they known, and seen a mother/father who showed them love, tenderness, and understanding? Or will they have seen you as being selfish, and never emotionally invested in them. This I feel is a great discussion to be had, because too many times negative cycles continue in our families, because no one wants to except that their child/children are really watching and paying attention to your actions and behaviors good or bad. And like it or not, your children are a reflection of YOU!

Video

Leave a Reply

